Chin Refugee Committee Delhi

Advocacy and help for Chin refugees in Delhi

Assault Case in Delhi – 29 March

Posted by crcnewdelhi on March 29, 2010

A Burmese woman namely Ms. Sui Tin Lem ( 32 yrs), a mother of  two small children, indentified as HCR/PL/ 10C 00340, by the UNCHR, was badly assaulted  by four local Indian in New Delhi, the capital of India, at a local standard time of 7:00 pm, on March 29, 2010.

The incident took place like this. Mrs. Sui Tin Lem was coming back from her work place in Citapuri block, West Delhi, along with her two Chin co-workers. On the way, after separating with two of her friends towards each of their house, four local Indian youth came upon her. They started teasing at her.

When she insisted them, two persons grasped up her tightly from behind and assaulted sexually. When making her best effort to escape, the two beaten up her with a rod on her brow. Soon she was covered with pool blood with injuries as her brow, cheek and chin were broken.

“I cried out for help from the local people around. But no one turned up for my help although some local people around me saw me I was assaulted haplessly. At last, I could manage to run away towards my home. But, I fell down on the street as I lost my consciousness due to bleeding out a lot of blood from injuries.

Two local Indian police luckily came to find me lying down on the street. However, I could not explain them about the incident I got, as I was so weak and got into unconscious.

They left me besides the street” she said late after she was taken home.

Only in next morning around at 4:00 am, she was found out on the street nearly dying by a morning walker from the Chin community. Then she was taken rash to the government hospital called Deen Dayal  Apadhyay hospital.

However, claiming the hours for medical record was already late, the doctors in the hospital refused to admit her at the hospital. So, she was taken back to home and given treatment with the help of New Delhi Young Men Christian Association (ND-YMCA). As she has gotten so serious injuries, she is now laying at critical condition.

Mrs. Sui Tin Lem and her two children came to India in February 2010 from Hakha town of Chin State, in search of a better life as their life in Burma had been under constant threats by the Burmese soldiers. Their application for refugee status is under pending, and they receive no assistance from the UNHCR.

Open letter by Burma Center Prague to the UNHCR in Delhi.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
